Advisory Committee

This Committee reviews Ad Council campaigns to ensure that the issues they address are a national priority. The Advisory Committee meets biannually and is comprised of leaders from research, nonprofit, business, academia and philanthropy.

Mission Statement:

The mission of the Advisory Committee on Public Issues is to help the Advertising Council identify and evaluate significant public issues as potential new campaigns, and to help recommend and secure campaign sponsors.


Dr. Risa Lavizzo-Mourey
President & CEO
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Janet Robinson
Former President & CEO
The New York Times Company

Members :

Omar Amanat
Founder and Chairman
Amanat Capital

Kathy Calvin 
Chief Executive Officer 
United Nations Foundation

Sarah Colamarino
Vice President, Corporate Equity
Johnson & Johnson

Steven Culbertson
President & CEO
Youth Service America

John Damonti
Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation

Kevin Donnellan
Executive Vice President &
Chief Communications Officer

Paula Ellis
VP, Strategic Initiatives
Knight Foundation

Wade Horn
Public Sector Consulting
Deloitte Consulting LLP

Kevin Jennings
Executive Director
Arcus Foundation

Cliff  Johnson 
Executive Director
Institute for Youth, Education, & Families 
National League of Cities

David Katz
Vice President, Corporate Responsibility

Irv Katz
President & CEO
National Human Services Assembly

Donna Klein
Executive Chair & CEO 
Corporate Voices for Working Families

Francesca Koe
Director of Special Projects 
Natural Resources Defense Council

Michelle Kydd Lee
Executive Director
CAA Foundation/Creative Artists Agency

Karen McGill Lawson
President & CEO
Leadership Conference on Civil Rights
Education Fund

Timothy McClimon 
President, American Express Foundation
Vice President for Philanthropy 
American Express Company

Dr. Herbert Pardes
President & CEO
New York-Presbyterian Hospital

Lisa Quiroz
Chief Diversity Officer and
Senior Vice President, Corporate Responsibility
Time Warner, Inc.

Cynthia Round
Executive Vice President, Brand Leadership
United Way Worldwide

Shirley Sagawa 
sagawa/jospin consulting

Dr. Stefanie Sanford 
Director, Policy & Advocacy
U.S. Program 
Gates Foundation

Vikki Spruill
President and CEO
Council on Foundations

Charles Stokes
President & CEO
The CDC Foundation

James Vella
Ford Motor Company Fund and
Community Services

Darren Walker  
Vice President,
Education, Creativity and Free Expression 
Ford Foundation

Dr. David R. Williams
Florence & Laura Norman Professor of Public Health
Professor of African and African American Studies and of Sociology
Harvard School of Public Health
Department of Society, Human Development and Health

Governor Bob Wise
Alliance for Excellent Education

Help us improve this site!
Take our quick survey.

Ad Council Family of Sites